Dirac Medallists 2019

Viatcheslav Mukhanov, Alexei Starobinsky and Rashid Sunyaev


The 2019 Dirac Medal and Prize is awarded to Viatcheslav Mukhanov (Ludwig-Maximilians- Universität, Munich), Alexei Starobinsky (Landau Institute for Theoretical Physics) and Rashid Sunyaev (Max-Planck Institute for Astrophysics, Garching) for their outstanding contributions to the physics of the Cosmic Microwave Background (CMB) with experimentally tested implications that have helped to transform cosmology into a precision scientific discipline by combining microscopic physics with the large scale structure of the universe.

Read the related news announcement